Thomas A. Kochan & Stephen R. Sleigh Best Dissertation Award

DEADLINE: January 15, 2014

PURPOSE: The Labor and Employment Relations Association has established an annual competition for post-doctoral students in the field of industrial relations* or related fields such as history, political science, economics, sociology, etc., as long as they are broadly related to employment relations as reflected in the publications and membership of the LERA. The purpose is twofold: (1) to stimulate greater awareness and interest among doctoral students at colleges and universities of the field of industrial relations, and (2) to provide a vehicle by which an outstanding thesis by a doctoral student can be made more widely known to scholars in the field.

ELIGIBILITY: The Thomas A. Kochan and Stephen R. Sleigh Best Dissertation Award competition is open to doctoral students who completed or will complete their thesis at an accredited college or university between the dates of June 7, 2013 and June 1, 2014. Dissertations and correspondence must be in the English language.

AWARDS: The competition prize to be awarded annually shall be $1,000 (one-thousand-dollars). The winner shall be announced at the Association's Annual Meeting and the prize paid within thirty (30) days after the conclusion of the meeting in June. A one (1) year complimentary LERA membership will also be granted to the winning author.

JUDGING: Entries will be judged on the basis of originality, quality of analysis, quality of research, style and organization, practicality and timeliness of subject. The entries will be judged by members of a special Academic Awards Committee.

ENTRY PROCEDURE: Students who wish to enter the competition need to:
1) complete an entry form and
2) submit it with a copy of the thesis, their vita/resume, and a letter from a member of the student's Ph.D. Committee stating why the thesis is especially meritorious.

  • A member of the dissertation committee may directly send us a letter of support for the entry, or the student may forward it to us with the rest of the entry materials.

The entry form, thesis, vita/resume, and letter from the student's committee should be uploaded using the
online entry form.

ENTRY DEADLINE: All portions of the entry (entry form, thesis, vita/resume, and letter of support) must be submitted to the LERA on or before January 15. The winners will be notified by mail of their selection by mid-April.

For further information, contact the LERA Office at (217) 333-0072 or email

* Industrial Relations is defined as all aspects of the field of labor and employment including employer and employee organizations, labor relations, labor markets, labor economics, human resources, and the workplace.

Past Winners


Victor Tan Chen, Harvard University, Co-Recipient

Not pictured-

Alan Benson, MIT, Co-Recipient

Honorable Mention Awards

Kaumudi Misra, Honorable Mention

Not Pictured-

Amanda Coles, Honorable Mention

Na Fu, Honorable Mention


Dionne Pohler, University of Saskatchewan

Lu Zhang, Johns Hopkins University


Chikako Oka, London School of Economics

Honorable Mention Awards

Brian Harney, University of Cambridge

Honorable Mention Awards

Xiangmin (Helen) Liu, Cornell University

Honorable Mention Awards

Jing Wang, University of Toronto


Mingwei Liu, Rutgers University
Pictured: Liu and Bruce Kaufman, Award Committee Chair

Marco Hauptmeier, Cardiff University
Pictured: Bruce Kaufman, Award Committee Chair, and Hauptmeier

Honorable Mention Awards

J. Ryan Lamare, Cornell University
Adam Seth Litwin, John Hopkins University


Ariel Avgar, Cornell University
David Madland, Georgetown University

Honorable Mention Awards

Rocio Bonet, University of Pennsylvania
Rupa Banerjee, University of Toronto
Kyoung-Hee Yu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Bethany Moreton, Yale University

Honorable Mention Awards

Amanda Tattersall, University of Sydney
Laura Ariovich, Northwestern University


Andrew Charlwood, Leeds University
Virginia Doellgast, King's College London

Honorable Mention Awards

Mark Price, University of Utah
Konstantinos Tzioumis, London School of Economics and Political Science


Danielle D. van Jaarsveld, University of British Columbia
Daniyal Zuberi, University of British Columbia

Honorable Mention Awards

Mark Anner, Pennsylvania State University
Brenda C. Sun, The London School of Economics and Political Science


Chris Riddell, University of British Columbia
Eric Verhoogen, Columbia University

Honorable Mention Awards

Isabel Fernandez-Mateo, MIT
Forrest Briscoe, MIT


Anthony Zumbolo, New York State Public Employment Relations Board, Mediator

Honorable Mention Awards

Haejin Kim, Assistant Professor, Department of Management, School of Business and Public Administration, California State University – Dominguez Hills
Elizabeth Craig, Assistant Professor, Organizational Behavior Department, School of Management, Boston University
Lydia Fraile, Research Assistant to the LARA Project, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Political Science


Elizabeth Hoffmann, Purdue University, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Honorable Mention Awards

Corinne Bendersky, Assistant Professor, Anderson Graduate School of Management, UCLA, Human Resources and Organizational Behavior
Aparna Joshi, Assistant Professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations
George Benson, University of Southern California, Marshall Business School


Eunjong Shin, Bureau of Planning and Management, Ministry of Labor, “Unions, Government, and the Politics of Industrial Relations in Korea: Union Bargaining Power and Labor Control Policy from Democratization to IMB Intervention”

Honorable Mention Awards

Wendy Boswell, Texas A&M University
Alexander Turk, Internal Revenue Service


Alex Colvin, Pennsylvania State University

Honorable Mention Awards

Clinton Chadwick, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Rafael Gomez, London School of Economics
Susan Moeser, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Karaleah Reichart, California State University, Fullerton